1,000 Days of Gratitude: 940-967

940. Crickets – An insect generous with its talents.

941. Caught in a book – If you’ve never experienced this, you should put this down and pick up a good book immediately.

942. Racoon encounter – He only had one eye, and I was on his blind side. We assessed each other from a distance of about 18 inches, then both went on our ways.

943. Ski hill view – I could spend a great deal of time on high places just looking far away.

944. Cookies w/o sugar – So, naturally, I ate a lot of them. (Sidenote: if you’re ever looking for recipes for baked goods without sugar, let me know; that’s my specialty.)

945. My set-up companion – My dad has been faithful in helping me drag all my show materials around and set up for big shows for 4 years now, and I am thankful for him.

946. First place – At the Park Ave Fest, in my category. (The category was “Other”, but I think it still counts for something….)

947. Excited customers – Especially when their enthusiasm for paper art matches mine. It can happen.

948. Not always this hot – Maybe it will be fall eventually. I’m not comfortable sweating this much on a regular basis.

949. Old friends – Even though it’s been literally four years since we’ve seen each other.

950. Traveling buddy – That would be my younger brother, who drove the entire 1,000 mile round trip to Michigan for my brother’s wedding and never let me drive at all.

951. AAA – For those times when your future sister-in-law’s car runs over a bolt and the tire is flat.

952. Stepping up – I was able to access my leadership and management abilities to make the reception set-up happen as planned.

953. The Wedding – It was a good day.

954. God’s response – There was a rainbow.

955. The immense goodness – Though I am familiar with sadness and discontent, the presence of God is continually pressing close.

956. Roasted cauliflower – Almost as important a thing to experience to have as getting caught up in a book.

957. Regular customers – I have one in particular who always brings a challenge and leaves me a tip.

958. Night singing – The August nights have been full of the density of crickets.

959. Clearance – The best place to buy all the things you didn’t realize you needed yet.

960. Twice in two weeks – We followed up the wedding with a reception closer to home, which took just about as much work. But we did it. Twice.

961. Self-care – Saying “no” to things I feel I ought to be doing is really uncomfortable. But I’m proud of myself for doing it.

962. Letting it take time – I like immediate fixes and quick transitions and meetings that don’t go past their scheduled times. I’ve been working on (read: forced) to relax and not hold my plans quite so tightly.

963. The storm – A nice, satisfying thunderstorm.

964. Book covers – A good start on a custom journal order.

965. True words from a stranger – I was tempted to raise my hand and shout “yes”, but the library seemed the wrong place for that kind of response.

966. Seen and thought of – I generally assume that no one notices me, and experiencing the opposite is pretty gratifying.

967. Work to be proud of – Long day in the studio, lots of good things happening.

Leave a comment